Looking Up To Dad

There are eleven days until Father’s Day.  Today’s quote:

We looked up to our father. He still is much greater than us. – Wynton Marsalis

Collision Image Pedestrian

Walk This Way

Dads (and moms, too) serve as role models and examples.  Our every move, whisper, and reaction is studied and analyzed by our children whether we’re ready for it or not.  It is difficult to be under the microscope, but it is a good test of accountability, too.

Ideally, our children will look up to our example with joy and find ways to emulate us on our “better days” and understand that everyone has “difficult days”, too.

Still, we need to examine our own hearts, motives and habits in order to straighten up and fly right – confessing sin, and asking for help in walking in a worthy way (showing gratitude to God for His grace and mercy):

  • Psalm 26:1-2 (NASB) Vindicate me, O LORD, for I have walked in my integrity, And I have trusted in the LORD without wavering. Examine me, O LORD, and try me; Test my mind and my heart.
  • Psalm 139:23-24 (NASB) Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me and know my anxious thoughts; And see if there be any [a]hurtful way in me, And lead me in the everlasting way.

Resources

Learn how Tony Dungy worked to break bad habits in his own life. http://www.allprodad.com/dungy/how-to-break-bad-habits

Leave a Reply

